Confessions of a Tea Blogger- Tag

A game of tag for tea bloggers was started by Lu Ann of The Cup of Life.- Obviously I’m quite late to this party despite being tagged for a few days.

It consists of answering a list of questions in a blog post, and then tagging other tea bloggers.

I was tagged by Ricardo of the excellent My Japanese Green Tea blog. Technically he tagged our company tea blog

1) First, let’s start with how you were introduced & fell in love with the wonderful beverage of tea.

Growing up in Singapore, there is a mixture of British and Chinese influence in our society.

The first loose leaf tea I tried (more on that in the next question) was more than 2 and a half decades ago. My cousin introduced it to me and while pleasant, it wasn’t earth moving.

That would be almost another decade when my parents brought back some Meijiawu Dragon Well from Hangzhou. I was blown away by the huigan and brisk sweetness, how it linger in my throat in a soothing pleasant manner.

That was when the addiction was birthed.

2) What was the very first tea blend that you ever tried? 

It was a Darjeeling, Twinnings and unless my memory fails me, it was a tin can.

3) When did you start your tea blog & what was your hope for creating it? 

I started my blog in Jan 2011- I was going to start a tea shop and my motivation was to generate interest in

i) premium Chinese tea among the English speaking, or more accurately reading, target audience

ii) my little shop

4) List one thing most rewarding about your blog & one thing most discouraging. 

Looking back on the past 1.5 years, I realized I had written more than 300,000 words on tea.

Some were indulgent, some were self-promotional while others were written when I was raw.

But filtering that, what I have written that was of value would have sufficed for 2 full length novels, and that is something I never thought I would accomplish.

As for the most discouraging thing about blogging is the lack of traffic which is ironic because I would have never imagined 3 years ago on any given day, there would be more than a hundred people reading what I write.

5) What type of tea are you most likely to be caught sipping on?

Rough estimates:

70% an oolong- Tieguanyin, Yancha or Dancong are the most frequent ones

20% green tea- most likely wok-roasted one

7% aged Sheng Puer

3% others- white/yellow tea or a black tea

6) Favourite tea latte to indulge in? 

None

7) Favourite treat to pair with your tea?

Air.

Air accentuates the taste of tea, helps me savor the aftertaste and smell the aroma.

Anything else is a distraction.

8) If there was one place in the World that you could explore the tea culture at, where would it be & why?

China is the obvious and lazy answer.

More specifically Yunnan.

Based on my preferences, the answer ought to be Chaozhou or Fujian but

i) I already spend time there

ii) I spend time regularly with Fujian or Chaozhou tea people as well

Not that it is ever sufficient to study the wealth of knowledge but Yunnan would afford a new spectrum to my understanding.

I suspect my oolong bias will shift, at least in some part, to Puer over the years and I would like to learn more about the tea mountains there.

In addition, Yunnan is the birthplace of tea and home to some of the most diverse and unusual methods of consuming tea, particularly among the numerous minority tribes there.

9) Any tea time rituals you have that you’d like to share?

Not really ritualistic but depends on the type of tea.

Since I drink oolong tea daily, gongfu tea is part of the routine.

10) Time of day you enjoy drinking tea the most: Morning, Noon, Night or Anytime?

Daytime, at night I only drink aged teas unless I want to keep up all night.

11) What’s one thing you wish for tea in the future?

Deeper understanding of the diversity of tea and appreciation of Chinese teas.

This entry was posted in About us. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confessions of a Tea Blogger- Tag

  1. Hi Derek, congratulations for writing 2 novel’s worth of words : )
    By the way, your social bar makes twitter quote via @wordpressdotcom instead of @Peonyts

Leave a Reply

