Not Following My Own Advice

Us know-it-all types often dispense advice liberally. I wrote more than 200 hundred articles on my company tea blog giving all sorts of information related to brewing tea, tea appreciation and the like.
CAM00429Sometimes though, I ignore my own advice and go for irrational purchases. How else can I explain why I have nearly 10 gaiwans despite my belief that tea wares are not the best value for money in terms of improving the taste of teas. (The only reason why I ‘only’ have 5 yixing pots is that I am an advocate of not having too many so I can better season what I have).

So for the longest time I put off buying a Tetsubin kettle- too expensive, I hardly ever boil water with the stove, more convenient to use a variable temperature kettle, I already have 4 tea kettles and so forth.

All it took was a simple question “I’m in Kyoto now, do you want anything?”

Gone was my arguments and fiscal responsibility and for that good ten minutes, I provided him with the specs and photos that I had toyed about in my head for a year.

It was the kind of request that only a blood relation would entertain, given how heavy a Tetsubin kettle is, even a 1.2 litre one weighed like a sledgehammer.

All the way from Kyoto to Singapore to my household where I nearly giggled like a school girl when I saw it, dizzy with excitement when I think of how more amazing my yancha, tieguanyin and puer is going to taste with this.

Sometimes it’s good to ignore my own advice and live irresponsibly.

This entry was posted in tea, Tea Utensils. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not Following My Own Advice

Leave a Reply

